Get Out Of Bed!

Posted: May 17, 2016 in Spiritual life, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Waking up early mornings to have sometime with God before kick starting the day can be a bit tasking especially if you are the very busy type and you go to bed tired about every night or you are not a morning person at all. There are no rules for the time of the day to have your quiet time but looking through the bible you will observe that many of those who walked with God had this early morning thing with him and personally I was never a have-your-quiet-time-in-the-morning kind of person. I had to readjust when I discovered that spending quality time with God in the early hours before dawn, sets a good pace, makes me have a more productive day and people hardly get on my nerves. Well they may be getting on it, but it doesn’t get at me so i get to be nice all day.

It didn’t happen very easily because I was making that shift just when my life began to get busy and there were days (and still some days) I woke up late. I always felt guilty and already the guilt ruins the day, but right now I do not feel so anymore. If I wake up late I still pray anyways but one principle that works is to get out of bed as soon as you awake. Jesus displayed this wisdom in Mark 1:35. “And in the morning RISING UP a great while before day, He WENT OUT, and departed into a solitary place”.

Jesus was wise enough to know that laying in bed to pray in the morning was an invitation to sleep. He had to get out of his bed and even went out. If you need to get out too, please do! Sometimes sitting on a chair doesn’t even do for me, I would have to pace up and down my room as my eyes would be so “engorged” with sleep.

Spending time with God before dawn is about the most rewarding thing you can do everyday. Stop telling yourself “I am not a morning person” just make up your mind to do it and your body will follow.

 

 

 

Leave a comment